Enneagram – Vices, Virtues, Childhood Messages, and More

The Enneagram can be a helpful tool in discovering our uniqueness. With origins in the 7 Deadly Sins, the Enneagram helps us discover who we are when stressed and in a great place and everywhere in between.

Taking the Assessment:

Enneagram Resources

Here are some of the helpful categories I’ve found:

Vices and Virtues

Type 1 – The Perfectionist  → Anger / Perfection

Type 2 – The Giver → Pride / Help

Type 3 – The Performer → Deceit / Efficiency

Type 4 – The Tragic Romantic → Envy / Creativity

Type 5 – The Observer → Avarice / Knowledge

Type 6 – The Loyalist → Fear / Courage

Type 7 – The Epicure → Gluttony / Joy

Type 8 – The Protector → Lust / Strength

Type 9 – The Mediator → Sloth / Peace

Unconscious Childhood Messages vs. Messages You Wanted to Hear:

Type 1 – “It’s not okay to make mistakes.”  vs. “You are good.”

Type 2 – “It’s not okay to have your own needs.” vs. “You are wanted.”

Type 3 – “It’s not okay to have your own feelings and identity.” vs. “You are loved for yourself.

Type 4 – “It’s not okay to be too functional or too happy.” vs. “You are seen for who you are.”

Type 5 – “It’s not okay to be comfortable in the world.” vs. “Your needs are not a problem.”

Type 6 – “It’s not okay to trust yourself.” vs. “You are safe.”

Type 7 – “It’s not okay to depend on anyone for anything.” vs. “You will be taken care of.”

Type 8 – “It’s not okay to be vulnerable or to trust anyone.” vs. “You will not be betrayed.”

Type 9 – “It’s not okay to assert yourself.” vs. “Your presence matters.”

Basic Fears and Distortions and Patterns to be aware of:

Type 1 – Fear of being bad, corrupt, evil, or defective.

The desire to have integrity (deteriorates into critical perfection). 

Value-judging, condemning yourself and others.

Type 2 – Fear of being unworthy or unloved.

The desire to be loved (deteriorates into the need to be needed).

Giving your value away to others.

Type 3 – Fear of being worthless or without inherent value.

The desire to be valuable (deteriorates into chasing after success).

Trying to be other than you authentically are. 

Type 4 – Fear of being without identity or personal significance.

The desire to be oneself (deteriorates into self-indulgence).

Making negative comparisons.

Type 5 – Fear of being useless, incapable, or incompetent.

The desire to be competent (deteriorates into useless specialization).

Over interpreting your experience.

Type 6 – Fear of being without support or guidance.

The desire to be secure (deteriorates into attachment to beliefs).

Becoming dependent on something outside yourself for support.

Type 7 – Fear of being deprived or trapped in pain.

The desire to be happy (deteriorates into frenetic escapism).

Anticipating what you are going to do next.

Type 8 – Fear of being harmed or controlled by others.

The desire to protect oneself (deteriorates into constant fighting).

Trying to force or control your life.

Type 9 – Fear of loss of connection, of fragmentation.

The desire to be at peace (deteriorates into stubborn neglectfulness).

Resisting being affected by your experiences.

Free Consultation

If you're interested in a free 30-min consultation with me, simply fill out this form and I'll contact you!